Local News

Former Oklahoma State Legislator, Dr. Lee Denney of Cushing, has been named the 2017 Oklahoma Veterinarian of the Year by the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association.

Denney, a lifetime resident of Cushing, earned her DVM degree from Oklahoma State University in 1978. Immediately upon graduation, she went into private practice which she has held for nearly 40 years.

In addition to veterinary medicine, Dr. Denney has another professional interest that impacts animal owners in a different way. She served in the Oklahoma legislature for 12 years, the maximum amount of time allowed.

Today, Dr. Denney serves as an instructor and department head for the Veterinary Technology Department at the Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City campus. Denney said she has many areas of accomplishments – her family, her veterinary practice, and her time in the legislature.

Other Oklahoma State veterinary graduates recognized during the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association’s Annual Convention were:

Dr. Christopher Kelley (’97), Companion Animal Practitioner of the Year

Dr. Byron Schick (’87), Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Jarod Kennedy (’06), Food Animal Practitioner of the Year

Find Us On Facebook